Macklemore

I’m not going to lie – I hadn’t heard of Macklemore until a couple of weeks ago – but ever since, I’ve tried to get hold of as much of his music as possible – the guy’s music is amazing and he has a really good way of telling stories in his songs. Check out a couple of them below.

Make That Money
The worst thing about this song is the title – and it’s actually quite misleading. This was the first song Macklemore song I ever listened to. I really like the piano sample – simple yet effective.

Kings
A rap song that samples Arcade Fire’s ‘My body is a cage’? Yep, that’s pretty much what you get. The song itself isn’t even that great – I just love the fact that it uses the Arcade Fire sample – it’s almost as good as rapping over Grizzly Bear. Coming to think of it, that song actually deserves its own post, so I’ll put it on here tomorrow.

The Town
I think the beat is an interpretation of Dire Strait’s ‘Brother’s in Arms’. The unofficial Seattle anthem.

Leave a Reply

