Bill Murray


Today’s post isn’t about something that I like, but rather about someone. I know that many people keep lists of their favourite movies, which is something I have never done. Sure, I have favourites too, but I find it impossible to decide on an exact order in which I would rate these films. However, recently (and rather randomly) it occured to me how many of my favourite films feature Bill Murray. By the way, I’m talking about the older Bill Murray here – not the Ghostbusters actor from the 80s, who had some comical talent but not much else going for him. At some point between then and now though, Murray turned into this minimalist actor (for lack of a better term) who is entirely captivating to watch, even if it is not entirely clear what it is that makes his performance so good! Cases in point are Lost in Translation and Broken Flowers, both of which feature fairly long sequences of B.M. just sitting on a couch/bed, starring into space – without it getting boring for even one second! For this reason alone, I think Mr Murray deserves a post. What follows in NO(!) particular order, are some of the Bill Murray films I think are great and that I can’t recommend enough (click on the titles to see the trailer):

Coffee and Cigarettes

The Royal Tenenbaums

The Life Aquatic

Lost in Translation

Broken Flowers

Leave a Reply

